You are here
Home > Africa Cup Of Nations > Hector Cuper Names Egypt squad for AFCON 2017

Hector Cuper Names Egypt squad for AFCON 2017

Four players excluded as Cúper names Egypt’s 23-man AFCON squad

EgyptEgypt coach Hector Cuper has announced his team’s final 23-man list that will participate in the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon for the first time since the 2010 version in Angola.

Cúper had named a 27 initial squad for the national team’s training camp earlier on Thursday , before cutting down the squad to 23 according to CAF regulations.

The squad has seen the exclusion of Hamada Tolba, Ahmed Gomaa, Mohamed Awad and Mohamed Ibrahim.

The 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Ahmed El-Shennawy (Zamalek), Essam El-Hadary (Wadi Degla), Sherif Ekramy (Al Ahly)

Defenders: Ahmed Fathi (Al Ahly), Ahmed Elmohamady (Hull City – England), Mohamed Abdel-Shafy (Al-Ahli – KSA), Karim Hafez (Lens – France), Ahmed Hegazy (Al Ahly), Saad Samir (Al Ahly), Ahmed Dweidar (Zamalek), Ali Gabr (Zamalek), Omar Gaber (Basel – Switzerland).

Midfielders: Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal – England), Tarek Hamed (Zamalek), Ibrahim Salah (Zamalek), Abdallah El-Said (Al Ahly), Amr Warda (Panetolikos – Greece), Ramadan Sobhi (Stoke City – England), Mahmoud Hassan ‘Trezeguet’ (Royal Mouscron – Belgium).

Forwards: Ahmed Hassan ‘Koka’ (Braga – Portugal), Marwan Mohsen (Al Ahly), Mahmoud Abdel-Moneim ‘Kahraba’ (Al-Ittihad – KSA), Mohamed Salah (AS Roma – Italy).

In the same context, Egypt assistant coach Osama Nabih apologised to the players eliminated from the final list, explaining that the coaching staff is limited with the choice of certain number of players.

“All the players who were called up for the provisional squad were shining in the recent period,” Nabih told a local radio station.

“Had we got the opportunity to choose every player who had shined in his respective club it would have been different. We have to respect the basic structure of the national team, we apologise for the players we did not call,” he added.

Egypt is the most successful National team in the African Cup winning it on a record seven times with the last one coming in 2010 when Ahmed Gedo’s lone goal ensured their win over Ghana.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: