You are here


Ghana has been blessed with  great talents in Football, the likes of Abedi Pele, Abdul Razark, Opoku Afriyie, Opoku Nti, Joesph Car to mention but a few were a spectacular to watch in the 1982 Africa Cup of Nations. Suffice to say that, we are indeed blessed with legs that can play beautiful rhythms with Football . Nations across the globe have given good credits to our talents in Football and the Great Wins we have “chopped” in competitions at both FIFA and CAF.

However, The test for the AFCON Trophy has kept us in the dark for almost 35 years. There were times, new and great talents in football  were discovered in Ghana and tipped to win the AFCON but to no avail. Generations of new Blackstar players have emerged over decades, yet the nation is still expectant of a WIN for the Trophy to be brought back home (Ghana).

Sometimes you may feel the anger and agitation over players and Teams but luck, cohesion or team work, passion and patriotism may count in a WIN or LOSE game. I remember in 1992 , watching the final match between Ghana and Ivory Coast, almost every place went dead immediately Anthony Baffoe missed the goal. Tears were strolling down others cheeks as the Blackstars LOST the game.

The BlackStars, ones again this January will be going to participate in the AFCON tournament. The question that rings my ears is “will the BlackStars WIN or LOSE?”.

Avram Grants Final List of Players is out and each and everyone has his/her opinion about the current players and their chances of wining the AFCON tournament. So I ask, will the Blackstars WIN this time? Well, for my Opinion, I am still hoping that Ghana WINS and not to LOSE.

Below is the Final List of Players for the AFCON tournament slated for Gabon by Avram.

Goalkeepers: Razak Braimah (Cordoba) Richard Ofori (Wa All Stars),Fatau Dauda (Enyimba Fc)
Defenders: Frank Acheampong (Anderlecht), Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew), John Boye (Sivasspor), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew), Baba Rahman (Schalke), Andy Yiadom (Barnsley).
Midfielders: Afriyie Acquah (Torino), Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu (Udinese), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Christian Atsu (Newcastle United) Edwin Gyimah (Orlando Pirates), Ebenezer Ofori (AIK Stockholm), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid), Samuel Tetteh (Leifering), Mubarak Wakaso (Panathinaikos).
Forwards: Ebenezer Assifuah (Sion), Andre Ayew (West Ham), Jordan Ayew (Aston Villa) Asamoah Gyan (Al Ahli), Bernard Tekpetey (Schalke)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: