You are here
Home > Africa > Ethiopia name 29-man provisional squad for Ghana AFCON qualifier

Ethiopia name 29-man provisional squad for Ghana AFCON qualifier

Image result for ethiopian national team

Ethiopia have named a 29-man provisional squad for next month’s 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Ghana.

The Black Stars are set to host the Wayla Antelopes on June 9 for the opening Group F clash.

Ethiopia coach Ashenafi Bekele has named two foreign-based players: Shemeles Bekele of Petrojet and Oumed Okuri of El Entag El Harby.

Getaneh Kebede, Gatoch Panom, Jemal Tassew, Salahdin Said and Abel Mamo are the big names in the selection, while debuts have been handed to Abdurahman Mubarak, Ame Mohammed and Awet Gebremikael.

Ethiopia’s provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Abel Mamo (Mekelakeya), Jemal Tassew (Jimma Aba Bunna), Lealem Birhanu (Sidama Bunna), Teklemariam Shanko (Addis Ababa Ketema).

Defenders: Asechalew Tamene (Kidus Giorgis), Abdulkerim Mohammed, Ahmed Reshid (Ethiopia Bunna), Seyoum Tesfaye (Dedebit), Tesfaye Bekele, Mujib Kassim (Adama Ketema), Aneteneh Tesfaye (Sidama Bunna), Awot Gebremikael (Ethio-Electric), Addis Tesfaye (Mekelakeya).

Midfielders: Natnael Zeleke, Menetesnot Adane (Kidus Giorgis), Biruk Kalbore (Adama Ketema), Ephrem Ashamo,Shemekit Gugesa (Dedebit), Gatoch Panom (Ethiopia Bunna), Tadele Mengesha (ArbaMinch Ketema),Mulualem Mesfin (Sidama Bunna), Gadissa Mebrate (Hawassa Ketema), Shemeles Bekele (Petrojet/Egypt).

Forwards: Getaneh Kebede (Dedebit), Salahdin Said (Kidus Giorgis), Addis Gidey (Sidama Bunna), Ame Mohammed(Jimma Aba Bunna), Abdulrahman Mubarak (Fasil Ketema), Oumed Okuri (El-Entag El-Harby/Egypt).

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: