You are here


Image result for fifa

The Federation of International Football Association, FIFA has released a list of nominees for the 2017 FIFA awards.

On top of the list is the player of the year with 24 footballers to compete for the prestigious award.

There are 12 coaches who are also named to compete for the best coach of the year.

Also 10 ladies are enlisted to compete for the Women’s player of the year as well as 10 coaches vying for the female coach of the year.

According to FIFA,  two panels of renowned experts from across the six confederations have decided upon the shortlisted candidates for the top performers of the 2016/17 season. The men’s awards recognize achievements from 20 November 2016 to 2 July 2017, and the women’s awards take into account the period between 20 November 2016 and 6 August 2017.

Voting process for The Best FIFA Football Awards:
The winner of each of the four award categories above will be chosen by football stakeholders from around the world, meaning that:

  • The captains of all national teams decide on 25 per cent of the results
  • The head coaches of all national teams decide on 25 per cent of the results
  • A public fan ballot on decides on 25 per cent of the results
  • A group of over 200 members of the international media decides on 25 per cent of the results

The voting process for the men’s and women’s awards will open on 21 August and close on 7 September. FIFA will announce the final lists of the three nominees for each of the four categories listed above – as well as for the FIFA Puskás Award, the FIFA Fan Award and the brand new The Best FIFA Goalkeeper award – later in September.

Harry Kane
N’Golo Kante

Four Premier League players have been nominated for the 2017 Best FIFA Men’s Player award after FIFA released the 24 man shortlist today.

Chelsea midfield pair of Eden Hazard and PFA Player of the Year N’Golo Kante were nominated alongside Spurs Harry Kane and Arsenal Alexis Sanchez.

THE BEST- Cristiano Ronaldo

Current The Best winner, Cristiano Ronaldo  is among the list so as Barcelona Lionel Messi and PSG’s Neymar.

Related image

UEFA also added that the winners will be decided by a jury of club and international coaches, media representatives and fans.

FIFA Men’s Player award known as ‘The Best’ is in its second year after FIFA ended their partnership with France Football’s Ballon d’Or in September 2016. The French magazine continues to run its own awards.

The full 24 man shortlist are;

  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund and Gabon)
  • Leonardo Bonucci (AC Milan and Italy)
  • Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus and Italy)
  • Daniel Carvajal (Real Madrid and Spain)
  • Paulo Dybala (Juventus and Argentina)
  • Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid and France)
  • Eden Hazard (Chelsea and Belgium)
  • Zlatan Ibrahimovic (former Manchester United and Sweden)
  • Harry Kane (Tottenham and England)
  • Andres Iniesta (Barcelona and Spain)
  • N’Golo Kante (Chelsea and France)
  • Toni Kroos (Real Madrid and Germany)
  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich and Poland)
  • Marcelo (Real Madrid and Brazil)
  • Lionel Messi (Barcelona and Argentina)
  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid and Croatia)
  • Keylor Navas (Real Madrid and Costa Rica)
  • Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich and Germany)
  • Neymar (Barcelona and Brazil)
  • Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid and Spain)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid and Portugal)
  • Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal and Chile)
  • Luis Suarez (Barcelona and Uruguay)
  • Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich and Chile)
Jose Mourinho (left) with Pep Guardiola (right)
Antonio Conte

Elsewhere, four Premier League coaches were also nominated for The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2017 including Chelsea’s manager Antonio Conte.

Zinedine Zidane

Zinedine Zidane who won back-to-back UEFA Champions League title is in the hat so as Germany coach Joachim Low who steered his team to FIFA Confederations Cup glory.

Image result for diego simeone
Diego Simeone

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2017 are;

  • Massimiliano Allegri (Juventus)
  • Carlo Ancelotti (Bayern Munich)
  • Antonio Conte (Chelsea)
  • Luis Enrique (Barcelona)
  • Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)
  • Leonardo Jardim (Monaco)
  • Joachim Low (Germany)
  • Jose Mourinho (Manchester United)
  • Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham Hotspur)
  • Diego Simeone (Atletico Madrid)
  • Tite (Brazil)
  • Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid)

In the women’s division, Manchester City defender Lucy Bronze and Arsenal pair of Vivianne Miedema and Jodie Taylor were all nominated for The Best Female Player of the Year 2017.

Lucy Bronze

The full nominations are;

  • Lucy Bronze (Manchester City and England)
  • Deyna Castellanos (Santa Clarita Blue Heat and Venezuela)
  • Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg and Denmark)
  • Samantha Kerr (Sky Blue FC and Australia)
  • Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash and USA)
  • Dzsenifer Marozsan (Lyon and Germany)
  • Lieke Martens (Barcelona and Netherlands)
  • Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal and Netherlands)
  • Wendie Renard (Lyon and France)
  • Jodie Taylor (Arsenal and England)
Vivianne Miedema

On the part of the Women’s coaches, Chelsea Ladies manager Emma Hayes who joined the club in 2012 is nominated alongside Olympique Lyon’s Gerard Precheur and Wolfsburg coach Ralf Kellermann.

Emma Hayes

The full nominations for The Best Female Women’s Coach of the year are;

  • Olivier Echouafni (France)
  • Emma Hayes (Chelsea Ladies)
  • Ralf Kellermann (VfL Wolfsburg)
  • Xavi Llorens (FC Barcelona)
  • Nils Nielsen (Denmark)
  • Florence Omagbemi (Nigeria)
  • Gerard Precheur (Lyon)
  • Dominik Thalhammer (Austria)
  • Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands)
  • Hwang Yong-bong (North Korea)
Gerard Precheur

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: