You are here
Home > Latest Stories > WEIGHT-LIFTING: GHANA TEAM, BLACK CRANES ARRIVE IN AUSTRALIA FOR 2017 COMMON WEALTH CHAMPIONSHIP

WEIGHT-LIFTING: GHANA TEAM, BLACK CRANES ARRIVE IN AUSTRALIA FOR 2017 COMMON WEALTH CHAMPIONSHIP

The Black Cranes, Ghana’s weight lifting team arrived in Australia to participate in the 2017 common wealth weight-lifting Championship taking place in Carrara Sport and Leisure center ,Carrara ,Gold Coast Australia.

The competition started yesterday and the only female among the team, Ruth BAFFOE (Group A) will compete in the 53 Kg that will be the snatch and also the Clean and Jerk​ Image result for weight lifting in Ghana
Scheduled to take place 2:00 pm Australia time Tuesday and 4:00 am Ghana time Tuesday .

​David Akwei 63 Kg​ Male category will be first to compete for Ghana Group B the event time is 9:00 Am Australia Gold Coast time / 11:00 Pm Ghana time . He will also compete in the Snatch and the Clean and Jerk .

Image result for weight lifting in Ghana

Other athletes to compete after ​Ruth BAFFOE and David Akwei​
are ….
​Christian Amoah – Athlete​
​Osafo Richmond – Athlete​
​Osei Forrester Christopher – Athlete​

The objective of the snatch is to lift the barbell from the ground to overhead in one continuous motion.

The ​clean and jerk​ is a composite of two weight-lifting movements, most often performed with a barbell: the clean and the
jerk .

During the clean, the lifter moves the barbell from the floor to a racked position across the deltoids, without resting fully on the clavicles.

Leave a Reply

Top
%d bloggers like this: