You are here


There was no African when the worldwide players’ union, FIFPro and FIFA  revealed the final 55-player shortlist for the FIFA FIFPro World-11 2017.

Africa’s Snub

Although players like Egypt’s Mohammed Salah, Sadio Mane of Senegal and Pierre Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon have excelled to an appreciable level this year, their names were ignored by the two world football bodies. There is also Naby Keita of Guinea who played so well for his German side Leipzig.

Image result for sadio mane

The defenders list also did not see Ivorian Bertrand Bailey who plays for Manchester United and his compatriot Serge Aurier who recenly joined Tottenham Hotspurs from PSG.

This should be a sign of worry for CAF and African football as it indicates a bad omen for the continent. Previously African contributed great names to such nominations with the likes of Samuel Eto’o Fils, Didier Drogba, Micheal Essien, Fredrick Kanoute and Emmanuel Adebayor.


The FIFA FIFPro World-11, which will be announced at The Best FIFA Football Awards™ in London on Monday 23 October, will consist of one goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders, and three forwards.

The line-up is decided by the players themselves, with more than 24,000 professional footballers from across the world selecting their best XI in a 4-3-3 formation based on performances from the 2016/17 season (August 2016 to June 2017).

More information on the voting procedure, which is handled by FIFPro and its national affiliates, can be found in the rules of allocation.

FIFA FIFPro World11 shortlist:

Goalkeepers (5):
Gianluigi Buffon (ITA/Juventus), David De Gea (ESP/Manchester United), Keylor Navas (CRC/Real Madrid CF), Manuel Neuer (GER/Bayern München), Jan Oblak (SVN/Atletico Madrid)

Defenders (20):
David Alaba (AUT/Bayern München), Jordi Alba (ESP/FC Barcelona), Dani Alves (BRA/Juventus/Paris Saint-Germain), Jerome Boateng (GER/Bayern München), Leonardo Bonucci (ITA/Juventus/AC Milan), Dani Carvajal (ESP/Real Madrid CF), Giorgio Chiellini (ITA/Juventus), Diego Godin (URU/Atletico Madrid), Mats Hummels (GER/Bayern München), Philipp Lahm (GER/Bayern München), David Luiz (BRA/Chelsea), Marcelo (BRA/Real Madrid CF), Javier Mascherano (ARG/FC Barcelona), Pepe (POR/Real Madrid CF/Besiktas), Gerard Pique (ESP/FC Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (ESP/Real Madrid CF), Thiago Silva (BRA/Paris Saint-Germain), Samuel Umtiti (FRA/FC Barcelona), Antonio Valencia (ECU/Manchester United), Raphael Varane (FRA/Real Madrid CF)

Midfielders (15):
Thiago Alcantara (ESP/Bayern München), Sergio Busquets (ESP/FC Barcelona), Casemiro (BRA/Real Madrid CF), Philippe Coutinho (BRA/Liverpool), Eden Hazard (BEL/Chelsea), Andres Iniesta (ESP/FC Barcelona), Isco (ESP/Real Madrid CF), N’Golo Kante (FRA/Chelsea), Toni Kroos (GER/Real Madrid CF), Nemanja Matic (SRB/Chelsea/Manchester United), Luka Modric (CRO/Real Madrid CF), Mesut Ozil (GER/Arsenal), Paul Pogba (FRA/Manchester United), Marco Verratti (ITA/Paris Saint-Germain), Arturo Vidal (CHI/Bayern München)

Strikers (15):
Gareth Bale (WAL/Real Madrid CF), Karim Benzema (FRA/Real Madrid CF), Edinson Cavani (URU/Paris Saint-Germain), Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Real Madrid CF), Paulo Dybala (ARG/Juventus), Antoine Griezmann (FRA/Atletico Madrid), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (SWE/Manchester United), Harry Kane (ENG/Tottenham Hotspur), Robert Lewandowski (POL/Bayern München), Romelu Lukaku (BEL/Everton/Manchester United), Kylian Mbappe (FRA/Monaco/Paris Saint-Germain), Lionel Messi (ARG/FC Barcelona), Neymar (BRA/FC Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain), Alexis Sanchez (CHI/Arsenal), Luis Suarez (URU/FC Barcelona)

The final FIFA FIFPro World11 will be announced at The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony at the London Palladium on 23 October 2017. During the ceremony The Best FIFA Men’s Player, The Best FIFA Women’s Player, The Best FIFA Goalkeeper, The Best FIFA Men’s Coach, The Best FIFA Women’s Coach, The FIFA Puskás Award, The FIFA Fan Award and The FIFA Fair Play Award will also be presented.

FIFA will announce the final nominees for The Best FIFA Football Awards on 22 September 2017. All nominees will be revealed across FIFA’s social media platforms, so make sure you’re following @FIFAcom, tracking the hashtags #TheBest and #Puskas, with the latest pictures and news also available on The Best FIFA Football Awards Facebook page and our Instagram account.


Source : FIFA

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: