You are here
Home > Fifa > FIFA nominates ten players for the best player award

FIFA nominates ten players for the best player award

FIFA has released a list of ten players to compete for the 2019 FIFA World Best.

VOTE NOW: The Best FIFA Men's Player

A list of ten players have been nominated by the Technical committee of FIFA to compete for the prestigious award.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player nominees

Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) – Juventus
Frenkie de Jong (NED) – Ajax / FC Barcelona
Matthijs de Ligt (NED) – Ajax / Juventus
Eden Hazard (BEL) – Chelsea / Real Madrid
Harry Kane (ENG) – Tottenham Hotspur
Sadio Mane (SEN) – Liverpool
Kylian Mbappe (FRA) – Paris Saint-Germain
Lionel Messi (ARG) – FC Barcelona
Mohamed Salah (EGY) – Liverpool
Virgil van Dijk (NED) – Liverpool

Leading the race is the two arch rivals Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi who have ten awards between for this competition.

But Lionel Messi is seen to be ahead of his compatriot after his dominance for FC Barcelona in the UEFA Champions League and La Liga.

The Argentine captain could not glitter as expected in the 2019 Copa America which saw his Argentina side losing to Brazil at the semi- finals.

Liverpool defender Virgil Van Dijk is the one tipped to compete with Leo Messi for the award after his wonder display for his club at the UEFA Champions League.

Liverpool won the trophy after beating Tottenham in the final but could only manage second to Manchester City in the English Premier League.

Liverpool has three players as the club with most players with Barcelona and Juventus having two players each.

Frenkie De Jong switched from Ajax to Barcelona in June with his friend Matthijs De Ligt also signing for Juventus.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: