You are here
Home > Africa Cup Of Nations > Claude Le Roy names his army for the Hawks of Togo – AFCON 2107

Claude Le Roy names his army for the Hawks of Togo – AFCON 2107

Image result for Togo names squad for afcon 2017 pictures

Togo has named their final 23 man squad for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon.

The 32-year-old skipper Emmanuel Sheyi Adebayor is among the players selected.

Currently unattached to any club, the towering center forward makes his fifth appearance at the tournament.

Veteran goalkeeper Kossi Agassa, 38, is another player currently without a club named in the squad for Gabon.

But coach Claude LeRoy has left out Nigeria-based Joseph Douhadji and Victor Nukafu.

Fulham midfielder Floyd Ayite was included as was another Europe-based forward Ihlas Bebou of German Bundesliga side Fortuna Düsseldorf.

LeRoy, who guided Cameroon to the 1988 Nations Cup title and has only failed to reach the quarter-finals once, has also included three players from the domestic league.

Togo reached the quarter-finals for the first time in the 2013 edition in South Africa but failed to qualify for the last tournament in Equatorial Guinea.

The Sparrow Hawks will kick off the tournament against defending champions Ivory Coast on 16th January, before facing Group C rivals Morocco and DR Congo.

The tournament runs from 14th January to 5th February 2017.

Togo squad:

Goalkeepers: Kossi Agassa (Unattached), Baba Tchagouni (FC Marmande, France), Cédric Mensah (Le Mans, France)

Defenders: Serge Akakpo (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Sadate Ouro-Akoriko (Al Khaleej, Saudi Arabia), Djene Dakonam (Sint-Truidense, Belgium), Gafar Mamah (Dacia, Moldova), Maklibè Kouloun (Dyto), Hakim Ouro-Sama (AS Togo-Port), Vincent Bossou (Young Africans, Tanzania)

Midfielders: Alaixys Romao (Olympiacos, Greece), Matthieu Dossevi (Standard Liège, Belgium), Floyd Ayité (Fulham, England), Henritsè Eninful (Doxa Katokopias, Cyprus), Lalawele Atakora (Helsingborgs, Sweden), Prince Segbefia (Goztepe, Turkey), Ihlas Bebou (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany), Franco Atchou (Dyto), Serge Gakpe (Genoa, Italy)

Forwards: Emmanuel Adebayor (unattached), Fo Doh Laba (Berkane, Morocco), Komlan Agbeniadan (WAFA, Ghana), Razak Boukari (Chateauroux, France)

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: