You are here
Home > Fifa > Klopp, Pep and Pochettino to battle for FIFA Coach of the year after shortlist is revealed

Klopp, Pep and Pochettino to battle for FIFA Coach of the year after shortlist is revealed

Jurgen Klopp, Josep Guardiola and Mauricio Pochettino have been shortlisted for the FIFA Coach of the Year awards for 2019.

FIFA has announced the short list for the various categories for the 2019 FIFA Awards to be held on 23rd September, 2019.

 A detail view of a FIFA Best Award Trophy during The Best 

The Men’s Coach of the year is also English dominated as all three candidates work in the English Premier League. Liverpool’s Jurgen Klopp, Manchester City’s Pep Guardiola and Mauricio Pochettino of Tottenham Hotspurs.

Klopp won the UEFA Champions League with Liverpool and also placed second to Pep Guardiola in the English Premier League. Pep also won all three domestic competitions in England. Mauricio Pochettino’s Tottenham also lost to Liverpool in the finals of UEFA Champions League.

Lionel Messi, Virgil Van Djik and Cristiano Ronaldo will battle it out again at the biggest football podium for the 2019 FIFA Best Player award.

 The Best Men's Player 2019 Finalists

Van Dijk won the UEFA Player of the year last week ahead of his two other compatriots who have dominated the podium for over a decade.

The women’s best player awards are dominated by USA’s Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe whereas English player Lucy Bronze adds up to complete the list of three players.

The Best Women's Player 2019 finalists

The Best FIFA Football Awards finalists in full

The Best FIFA Men’s Player

Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) – Juventus
Lionel Messi (ARG) – FC Barcelona
Virgil van Dijk (NED) – Liverpool

The Best FIFA Women’s Player
Lucy Bronze (ENG) – Olympique Lyonnais
Alex Morgan (USA) – Orlando Pride
Megan Rapinoe (USA) – Reign FC

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach
Pep Guardiola (ESP) – Manchester City
Jurgen Klopp (GER) – Liverpool
Mauricio Pochettino (ARG) – Tottenham Hotspur

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach
Jill Ellis (USA) – USA national team
Phil Neville (ENG) – England national team
Sarina Wiegman (NED) – Netherlands national team

FIFA Fan Award
Silvia Grecco (BRA)
Netherlands Fans at the Women’s World Cup (NED)
Justo Sánchez (URU)

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper
Alisson (BRA) – Liverpool
Ederson (BRA) – Manchester City
Marc-André ter Stegen (GER) – FC Barcelona

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper
Christiane Endler (CHI) – Paris Saint-Germain
Hedvig Lindahl (SWE) – Chelsea / Wolfsburg
Sari van Veenendaal (NED) – Arsenal / Atletico Madrid

FIFA Puskás Award
Lionel Messi (ARG) – Real Betis v FC Barcelona [La Liga] (17 March 2019)
Juan Fernando Quintero (COL) – River Plate v Racing Club [Argentinian Superliga] (10 February 2019)
Dániel Zsóri (HUN) – Debrecen FC v Ferencváros TC [Nemzeti Bajnoskag I] (16 February 2019)

What happens next?
The Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Coach, Player awards:
The winner of the voting by national team captains, coaches, fans and media will be announced during The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony at the Teatro all Scala in Milan on Monday 23 September.

FIFA Fan Award:
Voting is now open, and will close during the ceremony on 23 September.

FIFA Puskás Award:
The three finalists selected by the users will be put up for a vote among FIFA Legends, who will decide the award winner.

The Best FIFA Men’s and Women’s Goalkeeper awards:
The winner of the award will be selected by a panel of experts chosen by FIFA, comprised of former goalkeepers and strikers.

FIFA/FIFPro Men’s and Women’s World11:
The 55 nominees for each award will be announced by FIFPro this week: for the men’s edition on Wednesday 4 September and for the historic first edition of the FIFA/FIFPro Women’s World11 on Thursday 5 September.

Source : FIFA

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: